Automated Flows - Browse Abandonment
Shows how to set up a flow that follows up with subscribers who viewed a product page without buying.
Learn how to re-engage subscribers who visited a certain product page without adding to cart or checking out
Utilizing the Browse Abandonment flow you can remind your subscribers of items they checked and did not purchase. Target them with exclusive follow-ups, further discounts based on their interests, or useful product knowledge that can help encourage them to order.
How to activate the Browse Abandonment flow
Go to "Automated Flows", and click "SMS Abandonment".

Click on "SMS Browse Abandonment".

You will be redirected to the flow editor, where the default flow will open.

Delay
The first item of the Browse Abandonment flow is a delay. By default, the flow will be sent 3 hours after the subscriber checks a product page and leaves the store. You can modify the delay if you’d like to.
Conditions
The next items are certain conditions that assure the flow will be sent to those subscribers who
Have visited a product page
Have no items in their cart
Have not placed an order in 30 days
We recommend you do not edit these conditions, so the Browse Abandonment flow will not interfere with your other Automated Flows.
Text
You can find a template in the editor. The text can be customized according to your liking. We recommend you keep the Product name and Product URL variables in the message. These variables will be synced automatically from Shopify based on the product page the subscriber visited the last time during their browsing session.
When you are done editing your Browse Abandonment flow click Save as Draft, Activate, or Update in the top right corner.

Browse Abandonment Flow Sending Rules
A subscriber receives at most one abandonment message every 48 hours, across the browse, cart and checkout flows together. If they received one in the last 48 hours, the next abandonment doesn't send
Even if the subscriber checked multiple products, they will only receive the product name and the URL of the product they last visited during their browsing session
Revisiting the store during the timeframe of the delay will abort triggering the Browse Abandonment flow
Placing items in the cart or purchasing will also block triggering the Browse Abandonment flow, as the subscriber is no longer in the “browse” state, and has now potentially entered abandonment flows further down the funnel
The sending of the Browse Abandonment flow will be postponed if the subscriber is in Quiet Hours
Returning subscribers are recognized
On Shopify stores, Recart now recognizes your subscribers when they come back to your store — even on a new visit weeks later, or after their browser has cleared its storage — so they no longer need to resubscribe for Browse Abandonment to reach them. In test stores, this meant about 40% more browse abandonment messages. See SMS Abandonment for the full details.
If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact the Recart Support team. We'd be happy to help!
Last updated
Was this helpful?